Search This Blog

Saturday, July 31, 2010

The Belgariad: Volume One(inclusive of books: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, and Magician's Gambit) by David Eddings

David Eddings has created a wonderful epic fantasy series. He claims it all started with a map sketch. It is such a wonderful series that I have read the entire series 3 times.

Garion is a normal seeming youth growing up on a farm in Sendaria with his Aunt Pol. Everything is mostly normal until a visit from a vagabond story teller leads them on a great adventure after a thief. The party grows and grows and grows until Garion is unsure about his role in the party and things lead him to question all he held dear and right in his life... Thus began the first great novel in the series, Pawn of Prophecy.

Stuck with unpleasant realizations that everything has changed, Garion is now waiting in the cold snow of Arendia for more party members to arrive. He sinks into self pity and anger over events that he can't control. Little clues keep popping out at Garion, confusing him about his true role in the whole affair. What will it all mean? What has Garion become a part of? What has Garion become? He learns more than he wanted to as he travels from one country to another in the continued search for the thief... Thus continues Garion's story in Queen of Sorcery.

Things rush to a head with the magician, Ctuchik. The orb, the stolen object, is now in his possession. Garion learns what he is and who is Aunt Pol and the vagabond story teller, Mister Wolf, really are. Gaining new friends along his journey, Garion can't begin to imagine going back to Faldor's Farm, but he wishes everything would go back to normal and he could just go home... Thus finales in a cliff hanger, nearly literally, Volume one, Magician's Gambit.

Love this series. Must read. 5/5 Stars!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment